A Little Background

There are a lot of reasons we are going to Cuba. Over the next few days I will be writing a little bit about why we chose to go there. One reason is that my wife, Niki, is Cuban. We have both been enamored with Cuban musical culture for a long time. I have heard that when we get to Havana, there will be music coming out of almost every doorway.

Niki’s grandmother (abuela en español), Gisela Suarez (still doing well in Hialeah, FL) was apparently quite a singer in her time. Niki’s father gave me a bunch of old cassette tapes that were unplayable, and he asked if I could fix them. I’m nowhere near completing them, but I just finished the first tape. The quality of the recording is pretty poor, but you can hear just how lovely her voice was. I don’t know the name of the song, so if anyone out there does, please let me know in the comments.

More to come on what has taken us on down this path to Cuba (pronounced KOO-bah, not CUE-Bah) in subsequent posts.

UPDATE: Niki just sent me some pictures of her abuela and abuelo that were taken in Cuba. Very cool.

abuela y abuelo

abuela

4 thoughts on “A Little Background

  1. Pingback: Update on Abuela’s Singing | UND Concert Choir

  2. Pingback: Day One – Miami or Bust | UND Concert Choir

Leave a Reply

