Be Careful Onstage

Conductor David Ott fell 14 feet of the stage and landed on his back. According to the Pensacola News Journal:

He fell 14 feet into the basement below the orchestra pit. He landed flat on his back, breaking nine vertebrae, dislocating his shoulder and injuring an ankle.

about his fall, he said:

“All I could think was that I was falling into hell,” he recalled. “I was so glad when I hit because it finally stopped.”

Like a true rock star, he is itching to get back on the podium by this thursday or friday. That’s true musicianship.

Sort of scary. Promise me you won’t fall during any of our performances (basses off the back row) . I promise the same.

original story here

One thought on “Be Careful Onstage

Leave a Reply

